Category: DEFAULT

2 Oct, 2012

Attack - The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion - Orange (CD, Album)

As the liner notes of this new reissue point out, Spencer didn't yell out "Blues Explosion! Here, he yells it constantly. But most of the greatest moments on the album aren't the go-for-broke blasts of adrenaline; they're the points where the band pulls back and sticks to the pocket.

It's a bit of a surprise to learn, via the newly fleshed-out liner notes, that the band was in a pretty dysfunctional and drugged-out state at the time they recorded it. Guitarist Judah Bauer floats the theory that he might've played behind the beat throughout the album because he was "junk sick. The tracks groove hard, and every change feels totally intuitive.

Only a couple of songs on Orange have what could even loosely be considered choruses. Spencer is the unquestioned frontman here, but his vocals are more hypeman exhortation than actual song. A few instrumentals turn up, and all the songs could really work without Spencer's vocals, fun as it is to hear him whoop out the names of different cities or scream about how much his wife likes to fuck.

Page 1 of 1 Start over Page 1 of 1. Help Us Stranger. Track Listings Track Listings. Customer reviews. How are ratings calculated? Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. It also analyzes reviews to verify trustworthiness.

Top reviews Most recent Top reviews. Top reviews from Canada. There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later. It is difficult to convey to the Rock fan the experience that is the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, or to describe the joys and frustrations of this or any other of their albums.

A related problem is the lack of proper songs on this and other JSBX records. Despite his uncanny talent for the art of songwriting, Spencer almost never indulges his audience with a melodic song with proper verses and choruses. The truth is, I don't know. I somehow doubt anyone knows. It's a bizarre mix of stuff that is nonetheless addictingly compelling.

It has the brilliant 'Brenda' that will steal your heart and the hilarious punk of 'Bell-bottom'. The title track is shouted with disdain, and 'full grown' is funny and sexy and really, really strange. Throughout, the amazing riffs of Judah Bower who has an amazing ability to produce sheer noise out of his little electric guitar and the mad-as-hell drumming of Russell Simmons is perfect background for Spencer's over the top delivery. Rock music is supposed to be straightforward and, well, rockin'.

JSBX are doing just that. In doing so, they reinvigorated a genre with a much needed boost of excitement and creativity that's so far down the line that few bands have dared imitate it let alone dare repeat it. And that includes the band themselves. But then again, they don't need to. They did what they had to do and their subsequent journey has seen them plough a very individual and idiosyncratic furrow. It might well be a distillation and isolation of particular time and place but such is its achievement and unique standing that the record's perfectly formed ideas and execution resonate with a clarity down the decades that makes it timeless.

There's not many that can claim that. Share this article:. If you love what we do, you can help tQ to continue bringing you the best in cultural criticism and new music by joining one of our subscription tiers.

As well as the unparalleled joy of keeping the publication alive, you'll receive benefits including exclusive editorial, podcasts, and specially-commissioned music by some of our favourite artists. Blog To Comm. Spychedelic Sally. Power Pop Criminals. Iron Leg. Iron Leg Radio Show Episode 5 days ago.

Kogar's Jungle Juice. Kogar's Jungle Juice Episode 3! Nothin' But Trash V2. Diana Rigg Je t'aimais, je t'aime, je t'aimerai The Devil's Music. Monkey Picks. Julian Cope presents Head Heritage. Head Guide: Merchandiser Open 1 month ago.

Be Bop Wino Done Gone. Nuzz Prowling Wolf. Soultaker73 — Freedom Time 3 months ago. Love this track. More Love this track Set track as current obsession Get track Loading. Friday 27 March Saturday 28 March Monday 30 March Tuesday 31 March Wednesday 1 April Thursday 2 April Friday 3 April Saturday 4 April Sunday 5 April Monday 6 April Tuesday 7 April Wednesday 8 April Thursday 9 April Friday 10 April Saturday 11 April Sunday 12 April Monday 13 April Tuesday 14 April Wednesday 15 April Friday 17 April Saturday 18 April Sunday 19 April Monday 20 April Tuesday 21 April Wednesday 22 April Thursday 23 April Friday 24 April Saturday 25 April Sunday 26 April Monday 27 April Tuesday 28 April Wednesday 29 April Thursday 30 April Friday 1 May Saturday 2 May Sunday 3 May Monday 4 May Tuesday 5 May Wednesday 6 May Thursday 7 May

Orange by The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, released 20 April 1. Bellbottoms 2. Ditch 3. Dang 4. Very Rare 5. Sweat 6. Cowboy 7. Orange 8. Brenda 9. Dissect Blues X Man Full Grown Flavor Greyhound Showgirl Miss Elaine Haircut Bellbottoms Original Long Ending Brenda-bx Man Style-Greyhound (Live at CBGB)

About : Jura

8 thoughts on “Attack - The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion - Orange (CD, Album)”

  1. 28 rows · Jun 04,  · Discover releases, reviews, credits, songs, and more about The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion!* - Orange at Discogs. Complete your The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion /5().
  2. Label: Majordomo Records - • Format: 2x, CD Album, Reissue • Country: US • Genre: Rock • Style: Garage Rock The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion - Orange (, CD) | Discogs Explore/5(6).
  3. The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion made Orange with a funky, Philly-string soul, blues-rock type of sound in mind, and they didn't quite hit it right on but they got so close that this album sounds better than you could ever imagine/5(41).
  4. Orange is the fourth studio album by the Jon Spencer Blues onancribpassrefcu.gestsoulucurfeicompprettherstertemptawars.co was released through Matador Records on October 12, The Village Voice ranked the album #16 of the top albums of NME named it the 16th best album of In , Paste named it the 48th best garage rock album of all time. The single "Bellbottoms" was included in The Pitchfork Genre: Punk blues, garage rock.
  5. In the aftermath of Extra Width's success, the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion were drawing large crowds virtually everywhere they played. It both gratified them and made them suspicious. The track "Afro" on the previous album provided a clue as to the forthcoming no man's land JBSE would raucously explore. Orange is almost entirely new sonic terrain -- but it keeps the trio's trademark sweaty.
  6. The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion are a fantastic example of what happens when you start pushing the boundaries of rock 'n' roll. Most every track on this album is worthy of listening to. Sometimes the vocals hit bum notes and are a little unpalatable, but that's sort of the point/5(9).
  7. The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion was an American three-piece rock band from New York City, formed in The group consisted of Judah Bauer on guitar, backing vocals, harmonica and occasional lead vocals, Russell Simins on drums and Jon Spencer on vocals, guitar and onancribpassrefcu.gestsoulucurfeicompprettherstertemptawars.co musical style is largely rooted in rock and roll although it draws influences from punk, blues, garage.
  8. The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion Articles and Media. The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion; Orange / Acme. Jon Spencer Blues Explosion Planning New Album.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *