Category: DEFAULT

2 Oct, 2012

The McCoys - Hang On Sloopy (CD)

Sunday 19 April Monday 20 April Tuesday 21 April Wednesday 22 April Thursday 23 April Friday 24 April Saturday 25 April Sunday 26 April Monday 27 April Tuesday 28 April Wednesday 29 April Thursday 30 April Friday 1 May Saturday 2 May Sunday 3 May Monday 4 May Tuesday 5 May Wednesday 6 May Thursday 7 May Friday 8 May Saturday 9 May Sunday 10 May Monday 11 May Tuesday 12 May Wednesday 13 May Thursday 14 May Friday 15 May Saturday 16 May Sunday 17 May Monday 18 May Tuesday 19 May Wednesday 20 May Thursday 21 May Friday 22 May Saturday 23 May Sunday 24 May Monday 25 May Tuesday 26 May Wednesday 27 May Thursday 28 May Friday 29 May Saturday 30 May Sunday 31 May Monday 1 June Tuesday 2 June Thursday 4 June Friday 5 June Saturday 6 June Sunday 7 June Monday 8 June Tuesday 9 June Monday 15 June Hang on Sloopy.

The McCoys. Bob Feldman. Everyday I Have to Cry. Arthur Alexander. If You Tell a Lie. I Can't Explain It. Smokey Joe's Cafe. Their year-old leader, Rick Zehringer, was flown to New York to record his lead vocal over the Strangeloves' already-recorded backing tracks. The single was issued on Bang Records and entered the chart on August 14, , effectively beating the Dave Clark Five to the charts.

The single went on to hit number one on October 2. Originally written and recorded with three verses, the retitled "Hang On Sloopy" was edited down to two verses for the single and resulting Hang On Sloopy album. The song gained an association with Ohio State University after its marching band began playing it at football games. It first played the song October 9, , after a staff arranger, John Tatgenhorst, begged the director to try playing it.

After finally convincing the director, Tatgenhorst prepared an arrangement and the band played the song in front of the stadium. Since then, "Sloopy" has been appearing on the band's CDs and is available as a free download on its website. The song has also become a feature at the home games of professional sports teams throughout Ohio where, as is the case at Ohio State, fans usually chant the letters "O, H, I, O" during the pauses in the chorus while mimicking the shape of the letters with their arms.

The song is normally played during the transition from the 3rd quarter to the 4th quarter at Ohio Stadium. Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band covered this song live in concert at the university's Schottenstein Center in In April , Joe Dirck, columnist for the Columbus Citizen-Journal , saw a wire service story about a proposal to designate " Louie, Louie " as the official State song of Washington , and he subsequently wrote a series of tongue-in-cheek columns.

He even registered as a lobbyist for the resolution. Dirck played bass guitar in rock bands and knew the McCoys, particularly Rick Derringer. He said it was a good fit because the McCoys were from the Dayton area, and Ohio State marching band had adopted it as an unofficial anthem. Both the public and its elected officials—most importantly, the th Ohio General Assembly became aware their State lacked an official song as a result of the exposure from his commentary.

Friday 19 June Saturday 20 June Sunday 21 June Monday 22 June Tuesday 23 June Wednesday 24 June Thursday 25 June Friday 26 June Saturday 27 June Sunday 28 June Monday 29 June Tuesday 30 June Wednesday 1 July Thursday 2 July Friday 3 July Saturday 4 July Sunday 5 July Monday 6 July Tuesday 7 July Wednesday 8 July Thursday 9 July Friday 10 July Saturday 11 July Sunday 12 July Monday 13 July Tuesday 14 July Wednesday 15 July Thursday 16 July Friday 17 July Saturday 18 July Sunday 19 July Monday 20 July Tuesday 21 July Wednesday 22 July Thursday 23 July Friday 24 July Saturday 25 July Sunday 26 July Monday 27 July Tuesday 28 July Wednesday 29 July Thursday 30 July Friday 31 July Saturday 1 August Sunday 2 August Monday 3 August Tuesday 4 August Wednesday 5 August Thursday 6 August Friday 7 August Saturday 8 August Sunday 9 August

Album · · 22 Songs. Available with an Apple Music subscription. Try it free. Album · · 22 Songs. Try Beta. Sign In Hang On Sloopy - The Best of the McCoys The McCoys Pop · Preview SONG TIME Meet the McCoys. 1. PREVIEW Hang On Sloopy. 2. PREVIEW I .

About : Kigakree

9 thoughts on “The McCoys - Hang On Sloopy (CD)”

  1. Feb 05,  · Other than the Stereo effect on "Hang On Sloopy": I wasn't expecting anything extra from this CD because I already owned "Hang On Sloopy" on my Dick Bartley's One Hit Wonders Of The 60s, Volume 2 Various Artist's CD and I also own my Collectables 45 of The McCoys that has "Hang On Sloopy" on the "A" side and "Fever" on the "B" side/5(68).
  2. Other than the Stereo effect on "Hang On Sloopy": I wasn't expecting anything extra from this CD because I already owned "Hang On Sloopy" on my Dick Bartley's One Hit Wonders Of The 60s, Volume 2 Various Artist's CD and I also own my Collectables 45 of The McCoys that has "Hang On Sloopy" on the "A" side and "Fever" on the "B" side/5(72).
  3. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the CD release of Hang On Sloopy on Discogs. Label: Immediate - 25CP • Format: CD Album, Compilation, Mono • Country: Japan • Genre: Rock • Style: Blues Rock, Pop Rock.
  4. The McCoys: Hang On Sloopy ‎ (CD, Album, Comp, Mono) Immediate: 25CP Japan: Sell This Version: Reviews Add Review [r] Release. Edit Release All Versions of this Release New Submission. Add to Collection Add to Wantlist Remove from Wantlist. Marketplace.
  5. The McCoys ' debut album in was less a unified collection than it was a classic single, the title tune "Hang on Sloopy," which featured the singing and guitar playing of a young Rick Derringer, surrounded by a lot of likeminded filler, although a couple of the tracks, most notably the relatively ambitious "Don't Worry Mother" and the striking "Sorrow," which sported a lovely melody, rose well above the generic 6/
  6. Apr 24,  · The McCoys were a rock group that started in Union City, Indiana, in They are best known for their hit "Hang on Sloopy". The original members were all.
  7. item 3 The McCoys - Hang on Sloopy: Best of [New CD] 3 - The McCoys - Hang on Sloopy: Best of [New CD] AU $ Free postage. item 4 MCCOYS - HANG ON SLOOPY: BEST OF NEW CD 4 - MCCOYS - HANG ON SLOOPY: BEST OF NEW CD. AU $ +AU $ postage. No ratings or reviews yet. Be the first to write a review.
  8. 7 rows · Find The McCoys discography, albums and singles on AllMusic. Find The McCoys .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *